Signing! Life on Repeat & the Dear and Departed Sign to Equal Vision

Equal Vision Records have signed Salisbury, MD's Life On Repeat! The band - vocalist Patrick Purves, guitarists Andrew Baylis and Zach King, bassist Devon Voisine, and drummer David Walker - have been active for several years in various forms. Previously known as Amen The Animal, Baylis explained the name change was necessary as the former, "carried a hefty load of history, including old members. It didn't feel right carrying on as Amen The Animal when I was the only original member of the lineup." As Amen The Animal, the quintet garnered buzz with their self-released EP, My Iron Heart.

Indie/new wave act, The Dear & Departed, have signed to Equal Vision Records. The band recently wrapped up recording with New Found Glory guitarist, Chad Gilbert (H2O, Fireworks), and will release the new material as a digital EP and 7” later this year and tour to support.

In their short existence as a band, the Orange County transplants – Smith (vocals), Darren Parkinson (guitar), Cortney Miner (guitar), and Jimmy Walsh (drums) – have built a devoted following and boast quite a story. There have been many triumphs for The Dear & Departed, including sharing stages with Saosin, Norma Jean, Tiger Army, AFI and Avenged Sevenfold, as well as patronage from platinum bands (like AFI, who invited Smith to sing on 2007’s Decemberunderground) and mutual respect from cult artists alike.